WRWC 2017
WRWC Champions
RWC 2019
RWC Champions

Rugby World Cup

National men's and women's teams from countries all over the world compete throughout the year to qualify for a spot to compete at The Rugby World Cup and Women's Rugby World Cup. Much like the FIFA World Cup, these cups are held every four years and are the epitome of competition in the world of rugby. The victor of the cup has the honor of raising the Webb Ellis Trophy above their heads as world champions. The next Rugby World Cup will be held in Japan in September of 2019. Click HERE for more information about the 2019 Rugby World Cup. The most recent Women's Rugby World Cup was held in 2017 in Ireland with New Zealand as the the victor and fifth time world champions. The next Women's Rugby World Cup will be in 2021 and World Rugby is still in the process of selecting a host nation.

HSBC World Rugby 7s

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens series consists of 10 tournaments held around the world, in which national sevens teams compete for series points at each round.

An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the 10 events, from the opening round in Dubai in December to the final round in Paris in June.

There are 15 'core' teams who participate at each round of the series. The 16th team is an invitational team.

Since the 2012-13 season a promotion and relegation system from the series came into effect. Qualification to become a core team takes place in Hong Kong in April. Japan were relegated from the 2016-17 Series and Spain qualified as a core team for 2018.

HSBC 7s square black

Olympic 7s

In 2009 The International Olympic Committee announced Rugby 7s as its newest addition to the Summer Olympics. Rugby 7s debuted in the 2016 Rio Olympics with 12 men's teams and 12 women's teams competing for a spot on the podium. For the women, Australia took gold, New Zealand silver and Canada bronze. On the men's side, Fiji took gold winning the first gold medal in their country's history, leaving Great Britain with Silver and South Africa with bronze.

Today, young boys and girls all over the world pick up a rugby ball and dream of being an Olympian.